The Shingo Prize is the world’s highest standard for operational excellence.

The Shingo Prize is based on a complete assessment of an organization’s culture and how well it drives world-class results. Shingo examiners focus on the degree to which the Shingo Guiding Principles of the Shingo Model™ are evident in the behaviour of every employee. The examiners observe behaviour and determine the frequency, duration, intensity and scope of the desired principle-based behaviour. They also observe the degree to which leaders focus on principles and culture, and managers focus on aligning systems to drive ideal behaviours at all levels.

This focus is unique in the world and is the most rigorous way to determine whether an organization is fundamentally improving for the long-term, or just going through the motions of another flavor-of-the-month initiative.

Organizations that receive Shingo recognition fall into three categories:

  • Shingo Prize – a worldwide recognized symbol of an organization’s successful establishment of a culture anchored on principles of enterprise excellence
  • Shingo Silver Medallion – organizations maturing on the journey with primary focus on tools and systems for improvement
  • Shingo Bronze Medallion – organizations in the earlier stages of cultural transformation with primary focus on tools for improvement

Ireland – Shingo Prize Recipients

2018  – Abbott Nutrition Supply Chain Facility, Sligo

2016 –  Boston Scientific Cork

2015 – Abbott Diagnostics Longford

2014 –  DePuy Synthes Ireland

2014 – Abbott Vascular Ireland

Ireland – Silver Medallion Recipients

2016 – Meda Rottapharm Ltd – a Mylan company

Ireland – Bronze Medallion Recipients

2018 – Forest Tosara Ltd

2015 – Lake Region Medical

2013 –  Covidien

2012 –  Lake Region Medical Limited