Loading Events

REACH 10 Year Anniversary Conference

June 15, 2017
Spencer Hotel Dublin City Excise Walk
Dublin, Ireland

This conference, hosted by the Health and Safety Authority, marks the 10th anniversary of the entry into force of the REACH Regulation. Attendees will hear speakers from the European Chemicals Agency (ECHA), the EU Commission, the Irish Competent Authority, NGOs and Irish industry representatives share their experiences of the past 10 years and speak about what they see as the emerging issues and challenges ahead.

About the speakers:

Geert Dancet became the first elected Executive Director of ECHA in 2008. Prior to that, he was the head of the REACH unit in the European Commission’s Directorate- General for Enterprise and Industry.


Klaus Berend joined the European Commission in 1994 and is currently head of unit in the European Commission’s Directorate-General Internal Market,

Industry, Entrepreneurship & SMEs, responsible for the implementation of REACH.


Sharon McGuinness is an Assistant Chief Executive in the HSA since 2006, where she heads up the Chemicals and Prevention Division. She took up the post of Chair of the ECHA Management Board in October 2016.


Christel Musset joined ECHA in 2007 and is currently responsible for all activities related to the REACH registration process. Before joining ECHA, she worked in the European Commission, at the European Chemicals Bureau of the Joint Research Centre.


Timmy Carey is the Bio-EHS lead with Biomarin International Ltd and has 22 years’ experience working in EHS in the API chemical, industrial chemical, oil and gas, energy and biopharma sectors.


Frida Hök is a senior policy advisor at ChemSec. Frida joined ChemSec in 2009 as a co-ordinator and responsible for strategic policy work, contact with the

Commission and other relevant EU bodies.


Tom O’Sullivan is an inspector with the HSA since 2000 and has been involved in enforcement of the Seveso, Chemical Weapons, REACH, CLP and Occupational

Hygiene Regulations. He was a member of the ECHA Forum from 2007 to 2012.


Anthony Owens founded (with partners) Arran Chemical Co. in 1984, an SME active in the development and manufacture of fine chemicals, from which he recently retired as managing director.


Esther Lynch is ETUC Confederal Secretary and has extensive experience of the trade union movement both in Ireland and at international level.



Registration 8.30-9.15


Session 1 Chair: Majella Cosgrave, senior inspector, HSA

9.15 – 9.30 Opening welcome from Pat Breen TD Minister for Employment and Small Business

9.30 – 10.00 Geert Dancet, Director, ECHA. REACH: the story so far and the next 10 years

10.00 – 10.30 Klaus Berend, DG Grow, EU Commission. REACH review and Refit

10.30 – 11.00 Sharon McGuinness, HSA. The Competent Authority view – past and future


Coffee 11.00 – 11.30


Session 2 Chair: Michael Gillen, vice-chairperson, HSA board

11.30 – 12.00 Christel Musset, ECHA. Registration and evaluation – what’s done and what’s ahead

12.00 – 12.30 Timmy Carey, BioMarin International. Authorisation – an industry case study

12.30 – 13.00 Panel discussion


Lunch 13.00 – 14.15


Session 3 Chair: Yvonne Mullooly, senior inspector, HSA

14.15 – 14.45 Frida Hök, Chemsec. The greatest benefits of REACH – and thinking of the future

14.45 – 15.10 Tom O’Sullivan, HSA. REACH and the downstream user

15.10 – 15.35 Anthony Owens, Arran Chemical Company. REACH – an SME perspective

15.35 – 16.00 Esther Lynch, ETUC. Interface between REACH and EU worker legislation

16.00– 16.30 Panel discussion

16.30 Close of conference